Central European Initiative (CEI)

Central European Initiative (CEI)

The European scene shows a a great variety of multilateral regional co-operations. The Central European Initiative is the oldest and largest of sub-regional co-operation initiatives that emerged in Central and Eastern Europe after the collapse of the communist system.

Founded by Austria, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia in 1989, as Quadrilateral co-operation, its membership increased to 10 by 1994, to 16 by 1996 and to 17 in 2000 with the accession of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (now Serbia and Montenegro).

The organisational structure of the CEI - as an intergovernmental forum for concertation and co-operation - is flexible and responsive to new developments.

The CEI has established an integrated framework of dialogue, co-ordination and co-operation among and between its member countries in the political, economic, cultural and parliamentary fields, creating, thereby, an atmosphere of mutual understanding in which national projects and transnational programmes are being discussed, planned, studied and implemented.

Countries in common between CEI and Eastagri Network are: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Address: Via Genova, 9
City: Trieste
Country: Italy
Postal Code: 34121

Website Address:

EastAgri is supported by:

EastAgri is supported by FAO, EBRD, and The World Bank