International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)

The International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), a specialized agency of the United Nations, was established as an international financial institution in 1977 as one of the major outcomes of the 1974 World Food Conference.
The Conference was organized in response to the food crises of the early 1970s that primarily affected the Sahelian countries of Africa. The Conference resolved that "an International Fund for Agricultural Development should be established immediately to finance agricultural development projects primarily for food production in the developing countries".
One of the most important insights emerging from the Conference was that the causes of food insecurity and famine were not so much failures in food production, but structural problems relating to poverty and to the fact that the majority of the developing world’s poor populations were concentrated in rural areas.

Countries in common between IFAD and Eastagri Network are: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Romania, Tajikistan.

Address: Via del Serafico, 107
City: Rome
Country: Italy
Postal Code: 00142

Website Address:

EastAgri is supported by:

EastAgri is supported by FAO, EBRD, and The World Bank